Fey in D&D

Fey Jude

Fey are creatures from the Feywilds, a parallel plane to the Prime plane with much of its geography appearing very similar, just with notable differences such as the way plant life has grown or the absence of cities in certain locations. The Feywilds are primarily forested lands inhabited by many different creatures. While such creatures vary considerably, they often have an innate magical essence and mischievousness. Some of these creatures include fairies, dryads, satyrs and other creatures we might typically associate with fairy tales. The language of Fey creatures is Sylvan.

Fey Ancestry

The Feywilds are connected to the Prime Plane by portals that seem to follow a law unto themselves, appearing in one location one day and in another the next, usually hidden in secluded areas. This means that it’s not uncommon for creatures of the material plane to accidentally wander into the Feywilds and for the reverse to happen to Fey creatures too. For this reason, there are occurrences of Fey creatures on the Prime Plane, though many Fey creatures are secretive and discreet but legends do tell of sightings of faeries and similar creatures.

Because of this movement between the 2 planes of existence, there is some evidence to suggest that some races have their origins from the Feywilds. Creatures such as elves who share a love of nature and a similar magical finesse are thought to be an offshoot of the Eladrin who share many attributes in common. Goblins are also believed to have some form of Fey ancestry as well.

Fey creatures known as the LeShay are immortal creatures with pointy ears and albino-white skin. They are believed to be an ancient race and possibly even one of the creator races with immense power, though they normally keep their abilities a secret.

Types of Fey

There are many types of Fey creatures, broadly, some of them can be grouped together while others are wholly unique:


Fey that are bound to nature in a stronger way than most Fey. Their essence and life-force is literally tied to a location such as a lake, a forest or a tree. These creatures include:

  • Dryads
  • Hamadryads
  • Nymphs
  • Naiads
  • Nereids
  • Oreads
  • Fossergrim


Hags are wicked creatures filled with malice who seek to bring mortals suffering at their own personal gain. They’ll often make deals with mortals, but will find a way to twist the deal so that the mortal comes off poorly in the deal.

  • Sea Hags
  • Green Hags
  • Annis Hags
  • Bheur Hags
  • Night Hags (technically a fiend)


Sprites are small creatures with a small number of insect-like qualities, typically, having wings to allow them to fly. These creatures include:

  • Sprites
  • Pixies
  • Grigs
  • Atomies
  • Nixies


  • Fremlin
  • Galltrit
  • Jermlaine
  • Mite
  • Plainsjan
  • Snyad

Fey Born of Negative Emotions

Some wicked creatures are created when high levels of negative emotional energy accumulate such as when a creature is tortured. The creatures created from this process are selfish at best, but often manifest as sadistic serial killers. These creatures include:

  • Redcaps
  • Meenlocks
  • Boggles

Other Fey

Some Fey are unique and do not share qualities with other Fey creatures, these include:

  • Blink Dog
  • Boggart
  • Bramble
  • Brownie
  • Clurichaun
  • Darkling
  • Dobie
  • Eladrin
  • Faerie Fiddler
  • Feystag
  • Frostwind Virago
  • Gloura
  • Gorse
  • Harengan
  • Hoary Hunter
  • Hybsil
  • Iceling
  • Kelpie
  • Killmoulis
  • Killoren
  • Korred
  • Leanan Sidhe
  • Leprechaun
  • LeShay
  • Lunar Ravager
  • Quickling
  • Ragewalker
  • Ruin Chanter
  • Rusalka
  • Satyr
  • Shadovig
  • Sirine
  • Spriggan
  • Sylph
  • Thorn
  • Verdant Prince
  • Winterling
  • Yeth Hound
  • Yuki-On-Na


Archfey are fey beings of extraordinary power that verges on that of deities with some even worshipped and treated as deities. They are the equivalent of archdemons and archdevils in the lower planes and command the respect and obedience of many other creatures. They come from a variety of different races and creatures, with differing alignments and moralities and have unique powers they have developed over time. Archfey are able to act as patrons to warlocks, granting a portion of their power for the warlock to tap into for their own gain.

The archfey of the Feywilds include:

  • Baba Yaga – Mother of all Witches
  • Hyrsam – Prince of Fools
  • Neifion – Lord of Bats
  • Nintra Siotta – Princess of Shadow Glass
  • Oberon – The Green Lord
  • The Prince of Frost
  • Queen of Air and Darkness
  • Titania – Queen of the Summer Court
  • Verenestra – The Oak Princess
  • Kannoth – Vampire Lord of Cendriane

Some commonly regarded deities are also believed to have fey origins including Auril, Relkath, Sarula Lliene and Lurue.

You can learn more about fey and the different types you might encounter in D&D by purchasing a copy of Wild Beyond the Witchlight.

Published by DM Ben

Ben is an experienced dungeon master and player who's been immersed in the D&D universe since he was a teenager over 20 years ago. When he's not writing for Dungeon Mister, Ben loves creating fiendish puzzles and devious dungeons for his players. He's an especially big fan of the Ravenloft and Dragonlance settings.