Can you cast a cantrip as a bonus action in DnD 5e?

Yes you can, but only if the spell states its duration as a bonus action. As with levelled spells, cantrips must be cast with the type of action stated in the spell’s description. If the casting time is stated as a bonus action, then you can cast it as a bonus action, if the casting time is any other duration (like an action or a reaction), then you can’t cast it as a bonus action.

There are only 2 spells currently available in D&D 5e that are cantrips with a casting time of a bonus action. They are:

  • Magic Stone
  • Shillelagh

This means your options are fairly limited for bonus action cantrips.

If you are a sorcerer, you can take the quickened spell option when you gain meta magic which will allow you to cast spells that normally require an action, as a bonus action. This can include cantrips. However, this appears to be one of very few examples where you might be able to cast other cantrips as bonus actions.

Got a question of your own? Use our form below to submit your own questions and we’ll do our best to provide an answer:

Published by DM Ben

Ben is an experienced dungeon master and player who's been immersed in the D&D universe since he was a teenager over 20 years ago. When he's not writing for Dungeon Mister, Ben loves creating fiendish puzzles and devious dungeons for his players. He's an especially big fan of the Ravenloft and Dragonlance settings.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: