Can you multiclass into the same class in DnD 5e?

No you can’t. The reason this is asked is because some players want their character to have multiple subclasses from the same class (like a bard from the college of lore and the college of swords).

Unfortunately, the Player’s Handbook is quite clear on this. It states:

“With this rule, you have the option of gaining a level in a new class whenever you advance in level, instead of gaining a level in your current class.”

Player’s Handbook

Note that multiclassing requires gaining a level in a “new class”, not your current class.

This is further clarified by Jeremy Crawford in some sage advice where he states explicitly that multiclassing in the same class (and therefore taking 2 subclasses from the same class) is not allowed.

Got a question of your own? Use our form below to submit your own questions and we’ll do our best to provide an answer:

Published by DM Ben

Ben is an experienced dungeon master and player who's been immersed in the D&D universe since he was a teenager over 20 years ago. When he's not writing for Dungeon Mister, Ben loves creating fiendish puzzles and devious dungeons for his players. He's an especially big fan of the Ravenloft and Dragonlance settings.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: